Mini Reviews Edition 9-27-20

Mini Reviews Edition 9-27-20

Mini Reviews Edition 9-27-20Zhànshì by Anna Edwards
Series: Sinister Collections
Published by Independently published by author on May 26 2020
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Dark Romance, Mafia
Pages: 288
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Goodreads
   Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
three-half-flames

Zhànzhì is a beautiful, adventurous, suspenseful, and angsty retelling/reimagining of Mulan. - Goodreads Reviewer *****

Zhànzhì is one of the best fairy tale retellings I've read! - Goodreads Reviewer *****
“Victorious warriors win first and then go to war, while defeated warriors go to war first and then seek to win”
-- Sun Tzu, The Art of War

Lia has known she was different since the age of five when her father taught her the skills of her ancestors. His stories of heroic exploits have fueled her fantasies for years. Little did she know that her expertise would be called upon when two cities, two triads, go to war. Will it be a step too far to think she can hide who she really is?

Jaxon has known his career path since he was a little boy when his father promised his only son to the leader of the Yu Shi triad. Jaxon doesn’t mind—it allows him to center his chaotic thoughts and fight his opponents to the death. But when he’s partnered with a mysterious new recruit, he begins to question everything he knows. What is the young boy hiding from him?

Zhànshì is a modern day retelling of the tale of Mulan for the Sinister Fairytales Collection. Warrior Lia must find her inner strength to defeat a deadly enemy, who’s been left bitter by his quest for absolute power, while at the same time falling in love when she least expects it. Nothing will be as it seems in this dark triad world where a moment’s hesitation can be your downfall.

Zhanshi was a truly interesting story and I really liked the Mulan retelling that takes a more modernized setting which was unique in many ways. It does have some darker elements in the amount of violence and sexual assault that happens (not from the hero but from other elements) and I actually was drawn into the story so much. I really adored both characters that come into play here and of course the forbidden love was a fabulous spin as well. This story is set in a modern setting, deals with a mafia/mob type of element while playing on the play of the historical aspects of the “Mulan” legend. I actually couldn’t put this book down here and I was so drawn into it and even though the violence got a bit intense, the romance was sweet and endearing and both characters in the end….are true perfection together.

About Anna Edwards

Anna hails from the rural countryside near London. She previously worked as an accountant, and while she still does a bit of accountancy on occasion, the majority of her time is now spent writing and looking after her family.
An avid reader herself, Anna turned to writing to combat depression and anxiety after her diagnosis in 2015. She loves travel, hunky heroes with dirty mouths, demure but spunky heroines, and dramatic suspense. You will find all four woven into each of her magical stories.


Mini Reviews Edition 9-27-20Beneath These Lies by Meghan March
Also in this series: Beneath This Mask, Beneath This Ink , Beneath These Chains , Beneath These Scars
Series: Beneath #5
Published by Independently published by author on March 15 2016
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Mafia
Pages: 363
Format: eBook
Source: Self Purchased
Goodreads
   Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
four-flames

Look, but don’t touch…she might as well wear a neon sign that says it. It just makes me want her more.

She might be above me in every way, but I still want her under me.

I’ve got no business touching her rich-girl skin, but that won’t stop me from stealing a taste. Because rules were meant to be broken—especially when the prize is so fine.

In a world where nothing is as it seems, what's buried beneath these lies?

Beneath These Lies was a captivating book and this book throws you for a loop because we see how Meghan March places an element in the story I was never going to expect her to throw in….a bit of a love triangle and boy was it a whopper. Any y’all know that I can’t stand love triangles and even though this one was present, you obviously know who the main couple actually is. But it is sad for Hennessey, who is solid and a good man through and through (and yes he does have a book, the last book in the series—review below for it) but its not quite his time yet. This story features a mob boss “Rix” and a classy lady who owns and runs an art gallery and also is a talented artist herself. But she gets in a bind in trying to find her friend and co worker, and this bind puts a bulls eye on her back and Rix is determined to win her over. And while it does have some darker elements at times, I truly love the ending and the way the story evolves. Stunning in only the way that Meghan March delivers.


Mini Reviews Edition 9-27-20Beneath These Shadows by Meghan March
Also in this series: Beneath This Mask, Beneath This Ink , Beneath These Chains , Beneath These Scars
Series: Beneath #6
Published by Independently published by author on October 25, 2016
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 388
Format: eBook
Source: Self Purchased
Goodreads
   Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
four-flames

Beneath These Shadows is a STANDALONE romance set in the world of the Beneath series. You DO NOT have to read any other books in the series to enjoy it.
The only permanent thing in my life is the ink I put on my clients. I drift from city to city, in and out of beds, from one tattoo shop to the next. Every time I start to put down roots, I rip them up. Until New Orleans. Until her. She’s everything I’m not. Full of fire and life. An innocent where I’m a sinner. I want to consume her. Protect her. Keep her. But first, I have to escape from beneath these shadows.

Beneath These Shadows is a story of Bishop and Eden. And man their book was pure deliciousness on every level. I was so intrigued in seeing how this all played out and their development into their relationship was fascinating. I especially was drawn to Eden and her back story and seeing her explore herself and discover what she is capable of. Bishop is overprotective alpha male, who is very withdrawn from many people ….especially women though. But he is intrigued by the innocence of Eden and how she doesn’t play games and she is refreshing in many ways. But she is hiding a big secret….one that is a very interesting dynamic in many ways because of how it connects to Bishop and his past. Meghan March just doesn’t miss a beat and I have to say I am ADDICTED and I can’t seem to stop reading her books.


Mini Reviews Edition 9-27-20Beneath The Truth by Meghan March
Also in this series: Beneath This Mask, Beneath This Ink , Beneath These Chains , Beneath These Scars
Series: Beneath #7
Published by Red Dress Press on August 8 2017
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 350
Format: eBook
Source: Self Purchased
Goodreads
   Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
four-flames

From USA Today bestselling author Meghan March comes the final sexy standalone set in the Beneath world of New Orleans.

I used to believe there were lines in life you don't cross.
Don't lie. Don't cheat. Don't steal.
Until I learned people don't always practice what they preach.
I turned in my badge and gun and walked away from everything.
Then I got the call no one wants, and I’m back in New Orleans.
What I don't expect is for her to be here too.
Another line you don’t cross?
Don't touch your best friend’s little sister.
She's always been off-limits.
Too bad I don't follow the rules anymore.

Beneath The Truth is the final installment in the “Beneath” series which is the longest series Meghan March has written. And it was such a feeling of bittersweet knowing this is the last book but pretty much all of Meghan March’s books are interconnected which I do like that she implements that in her works. In this story, we have Hennesey’s book. We saw him in a couple previous books, where he ended up learning about the betrayal of someone close to him and ended up leaving the police force because he is a man of honor and integrity. But now he is returned when his father is killed. I really found this story to be engaging and thrilling in many ways and so much mystery is involved here that I was gravitated towards. The romance itself was sweet and sexy. Seeing these two who have always wanted each other, but have never embraced each other. I adored the heroine who is a secret hacker, a fun twist. Overall I found this book to be such a delight here.


Mini Reviews Edition 9-27-20Fall Of Legend by Meghan March
Series: Legend Trilogy #1
Published by Independently published by author on November 12 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 350
Format: eBook
Source: Self Purchased
Goodreads
   Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
four-flames

From New York Times bestselling author Meghan March comes a new deliciously dangerous alpha hero in The Fall of Legend, the first book in the brand new and utterly addictive Legend trilogy.

We come from two different worlds.
I’m from the streets. She might as well live in an ivory tower.
I made my living with my fists. I doubt she could even throw a punch.
Our paths never should have crossed.
We never should have met.
That doesn’t change the facts.
I would sell my soul to taste those red lips.
Fight the devil himself to hear her laugh.
Burn in hell to have a single night.
Scarlett Priest shouldn’t even know men like me exist, but sometimes temptation is stronger than will.
If this is how I go down, it’ll be worth every second of the fall.

The Fall of Legend is a story that will wet your romance alpha appetite in so many ways. I am not sure why I put off this trilogy when it was first released, but happy to say that it satisfied me in so many ways here. The first book “Fall of Legend” is a story that starts off with a kidnapping mixed with a misunderstanding and a mutual agreement. Legend’s club is failing and he needs something to liven it up like a breath of fresh air….and that fresh air is Scarlett Priest. This beginning to Scarlett and Legend’s story was hilarious and fun while also portraying the right level of sexiness that only comes with a novel by Meghan March. I loved Legend though, and all that he has sacrificed especially his relationship with a man who is like a brother to him but will always have the mind of a child after a gunshot wound to the head. Seeing a modern day heroine, embrace Legend so openly was refreshing in many respects and I admired that in Scarlett. She goes after what she wants and isn’t afraid to embrace Legend in her life.


Mini Reviews Edition 9-27-20House of Scarlett by Meghan March
Series: Legend Trilogy #2
Published by Independently published by author on December 10, 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 318
Format: eBook
Goodreads
   Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
four-flames

Gabriel Legend is unlike any other man I've ever met.
He came into my life like a hurricane, shattering all my assumptions and preconceived notions.
I wasn't prepared for him. I wasn't prepared for any of it.
Whatever happens next, I know one thing for certain.
I will never be the same Scarlett I was before I met him.
'House of Scarlett' is the second book of the Legend Trilogy and should be enjoyed following 'The Fall of Legend'. Scarlett and Legend's story concludes in 'The Fight for Forever'.
©2019 Meghan March (P)2019 Meghan March

The House of Scarlett is book two in the Legend Trilogy and this book continues after a cliffhanger in book one. What we see is that Legend has to work his butt off to win Scarlett back into his life. Legend in his own alpha way was trying to be self sacrificing not realizing what he was losing most. What I did come to admire in this book was seeing a heroine not stay bitter and untouchable. Legend does have to do plenty of groveling, and even though he has hurt Scarlett, its not an impossible feat to win her heart again. I found the ways that he comes back into her life so sweet and endearing and it is also a story that shows that human beings are fickle creatures who make plenty of stupid mistakes but also renews the essence of vitability in being forgiving and being forgiven.


Mini Reviews Edition 9-27-20The Fight for Forever by Meghan March
Series: Legend Trilogy #3
Published by Independently published by author on January 14, 2020
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 298
Format: eBook
Source: Self Purchased
Goodreads
   Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
four-flames

NewYork Times bestselling author Meghan March utterly addictive Legend Trilogy concludes in The Fight for Forever.

You can only keep what you can protect.

That’s all I’ve ever known. It’s the way I’ve lived my life.

Now, everything I never knew I needed is at risk, and I’m not letting anyone take it from me.

I won’t let anyone take her from me.

They say love is a battlefield, so I’m ready for war.

This time, it’s the fight for forever.

The finale of the Legend Trilogy is “The Fight For Forever” and I was so gravitated towards this one here. After seeing the development of the first two books, I knew this one would be intense because there was one aspect of the books we hadn’t really covered….the villain from Legend’s past and boy does he come back full force and its a character I honestly didn’t expect to be the same character and hero from the Magnolia duet books. Yep its Moses. I was intrigued to see how she would write Moses and his connection to Legend and yeah their past is intense and dark. But turns out he is the only villain in the book. I really loved seeing Legend fight for his life and what he believes in. And we get another character “Creighton” from the Dirty Billionaire Trilogy that plays a role in the story which I had a fun time seeing him again.

About Meghan March

Meghan March has been known to wear camo face paint and tromp around in woods wearing mud-covered boots, all while sporting a perfect manicure. She’s also impulsive, easily entertained, and absolutely unapologetic about the fact that she loves to read and write smut. Her past lives include slinging auto parts, selling lingerie, making custom jewelry, and practicing corporate law. Writing books about dirty talking alpha males and the strong, sassy women who bring them to their knees is by far the most fabulous job she’s ever had.