Mini Reviews Edition 11-9-20

Mini Reviews Edition 11-9-20

I received this book for free from Carina Press in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Mini Reviews Edition 11-9-20Mine to Keep by Rhenna Morgan
Also in this series: His to Defend, Hers to Tame
Series: NOLA Knights #3
Published by Carina Press on December 14, 2020
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Mafia
Pages: 352
Format: eARC
Source: Carina Press
ISBN: 1488054177
Goodreads
   Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
four-flames

She’s in way over her head.

Bonnie Drummond is from the wrong side of the tracks, raised in a family of liars and criminals. No matter how hard she tries to stay on the straight and narrow, she always finds herself sucked back into the family drama, forced to sacrifice everything she’s earned to protect her family.

But this time they’ve gone too far—crossed the wrong people—and to save them she’ll have to put her life on the line.

Roman Kozlov, enforcer for a New Orleans mafiya family, is the poster child for the life Bonnie is struggling to escape. But he’s also as alluring as he is dangerous, and it doesn’t take long for their lives to begin to mesh.

With Roman, Bonnie finds the family she never had.

As their race for answers heats up, so too does the budding romance between them. And with danger nipping at her heels and love threatening her heart, Bonnie must come face-to-face with her past if she wants to have a future.

Mine To Keep is the latest addition to Rhenna Morgan’s “Mafia like” series and boy I have to say she keeps delivering on all the treasures here. I adore seeing it. I will say that this story was so magnificent in many ways and if you love alpha protective males in contemporary romance, what are you waiting for on this one or even this series? I have really admired the strength that we have come to see within this author’s writing. Its always interesting to see the way she will bring certain characters in the same frame as we see here. I will mention that even though this is mafia romance, I wouldn’t ever categorize it “Dark Romance” as most Mafia themed romances are also in that sub category within the romance genre. Its essential to understand that its definitely lighter toned. So if you are even curious about “mafia romance” this series is definitely a great way to get introduced into it with.

So the story….well its fire and crazy in many elements but simply fantastic. Bonnie Drummond is from the other side. She grew up with her father and brother and is always having to use her savings to get them out of trouble financially. She is the responsible one of the family, working towards getting to a better place, but they are definitely a drain on her both financially and emotionally. But her love for her family never allows her on giving up on them until….now. When her brother gets involved with some dangerous people in town, and both her brother and father are taken, she needs help. So she reaches out to her friend who is affiliated with the New Orleans Mafia family and what she never expected to find is friendship, acceptance and love with Roman Kozlov. But her life is in danger and she will need to learn to humble herself and open herself up to this new found family, before she loses all of whom she loves dearly.

Mine To Keep is a powerful story and quite addicting. The writing that Rhenna Morgan implements within this book is empowering on a variety of levels. The moment I picked this one up, I just couldn’t put this treasure down and was captivated by Roman and Bonnie’s romance. Bonnie, I will admit was difficult at times. Her pride and stubborness really get in the way and she has learn along the way to open herself to others. For so long, she has had to be closed off to others to protect herself, but with Roman and the others, we see her grow and accept the changes that are happening within her life. The romance that builds between between these two is beautiful and I just couldn’t help but be consummed by the level of emotion this author conveys within the story. Superb in every way.


Mini Reviews Edition 11-9-20Here Be Sexist Vampires by Suzanne Wright
Series: Deep In Your Veins #1
Published by Independently published by author on January 13 2013
Genres: Paranormal Romance, Vampires
Pages: 267
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Goodreads
   Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
four-half-flames

Sam Parker is a vampire with a gift so strong and substantial that she is invited to partake in a test for a place in the Grand High Master Vampire’s private army. She finds that not only has the army never included a woman, but it has never included a Sventé vampire; a breed that is regarded by the super strong Pagori breed and the hypnotically beautiful Keja breed to be too tame and human-like. Most refuse to take her seriously, especially a Pagori commander named Jared who she craves in spite of herself.

The Grand High Master, however, sees her potential and offers her the position of Jared’s co-commander to help train the newest squad in time for the impending attack on his home. Sam has to demonstrate to Jared and the squad of chauvinists why it is incredibly foolish to underestimate a willful, temperamental, borderline-homicidal Sventé female.

Warning: This novel contains an iron-willed female vampire with an energy whip, a sexist male vampire who is determined to have her, explicit vampy sex, and a romance story with real bite

Here Be Sexist Vampires is the first book in Suzanne Wright’s “Deep In Your Veins” series and I will admit that I have put off this series, and I will be honest and vain—its the COVERS. Yep that is how petty I am LOL I gotta have a pretty cover or it takes me longer to get to the point where I read a book and these covers aren’t the best of Wright’s work. At least in my opinion. But I will admit that I was nervous about trying these books because I really haven’t read any reviews of these books so I wasn’t sure what to expect in some ways. But I have faith in Suzanne Wright, so I decided that I needed to take a chance on these books. And my overall impression is that I enjoyed it but not quite as much as I have her other books. Normally I can’t put her work down, but these were somewhat engaging but not quite as fully as what I have come to expect from her.

In Here Be Sexist Vampires, we have our heroine of the series, Sam Parker, who is a vampire and under the control of the one who turned her. But then she is approached by the assistant to the Grand High Master of all vampires, a vampire of prestige and power and where she could have a position as one of his most elites if she joins in a competition. Sam is ready to be done with how her life is currently, stuck between a rock and a hard place. So she joins in the competition and does quite well except in the face of the one vampire who seems to not like her and likes to push her buttons the most….Jared and also the heir to the Grand High Master. But they have a connection to each other, one where either refuse to give into each other.

This was such a charming book and I adored it in so many delightful ways. But sometimes these two drove me nuts LOL They are both so stubborn and prideful and really like to but heads quite often, but their heated exchanges are sexy as as all get out. But we see how they are so alike and very capable in their individual talents so those common factors really play a role in how they take a while before they learn to get along. But I found this one to be a spicy romance that was quite entertaining and I am eager to continue with the series and see how these two grow within their relationship.


Mini Reviews Edition 11-9-20Dirty Girl by Meghan March
Series: Dirty Girl Duet #1
Published by Independently published by author on May 17 2016
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 250
Format: eBook
Source: Self Purchased
Goodreads
   Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
four-half-flames

From USA Today bestselling author Meghan March comes a sexy new spin-off duet from The Dirty Billionaire Trilogy. Are you ready to get dirty again?

Desperately seeking rich, famous, single guy with a giant cock to make my lying, cheating, should’ve-been-born-dickless ex-boyfriend realize what he’s just lost.
Oh, and I give great head. Just sayin’.

No man in his right mind would answer that ad.
Except thousands did.
My name is Greer Karas, and I should never be allowed near another bottle of booze again. Because when I drink, my friend and I do stupid things. Like take a page out of my older brother Creighton’s playbook and post something completely asinine on the Internet. Waking up with a giant hangover to find my humiliating personal ad has gone viral is not my finest moment.
Cue my look of shock when one of Hollywood’s hottest new bad boys, Cavanaugh Westman, comes knocking at my door and drops his pants to prove that he does indeed have a giant cock.
What he doesn’t have is an explanation for why he disappeared from my life without a word three years ago, only to show up on the big screen two years later, killing bad guys in action flicks.
And now he wants me again.
What the hell do I do now?

Dirty Girl is the first book in the duet series “Dirty Girl” this duet of stories follows very shortly after “Dirty Billionaire” trilogy and this is where we have the sister of Karas…..Greer. Greer tends to make lots of mistakes especially when she happens to be drunk and is a bane to her brothers life at times. Now that her brother is settled in marriage and expecting a baby, Greer wants more out of her life but when she does something stupid she knows that there is no going back on this mistake. Greer takes inspiration from her brother, and puts out a notice to the world, that the man with the biggest cock can bed her but she does this while drunk. What she doesn’t expect is that a past lover to show up on her door who also happened to break her heart.

The romance between Greer and Cavanaugh is definitely full of plenty of heat and emotion that is Meghan March’s standard. I will be honest in that I thought Greer was very selfish at times. She tends to be absentminded and really self motivated, she doesn’t seem to notice how her actions can harm others. But what I do love about this one is seeing the growth that we see comes within her as she learns from her mistakes. But we see that there is plenty of secrets to be revealed about Cavanaugh and those secrets could break Cavanaugh and Greer apart. But seeing them build a trust again and reconnect was addicting in all the ways that this author delivers.


Mini Reviews Edition 11-9-20Dirty Love by Meghan March
Series: Dirty Girl Duet #2
Published by Independently published by author on May 31 2016
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 250
Format: eBook
Source: Self Purchased
Goodreads
   Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
four-flames

From USA Today bestselling author Meghan March comes a sexy new spin-off duet from The Dirty Billionaire Trilogy. Are you ready to get dirty again?

Dirty Love is the conclusion of the Dirty Girl Duet, and should be read following Dirty Girl .

Greer Karas has been mine since the first day I saw her.

I walked away because she deserved better than I could offer, but I always planned to come back and stake my claim when the time was right.

But true to form, Greer wasn't willing to wait. She threw down a challenge, and I’m meeting her head-on.

I’m not walking away this time because sometimes you have to fight dirty for love

In the conclusion to Cavanaughs and Greer’s romance is simply beautiful in many ways that we see here. What we see happen though is that secrets come out about their past and why Cavanaugh truly broke up with her and the complexities in their past that connect them in certain ways. But as the past is revealed, Cavanaugh and Greer will need to learn to accept what is done and learn to move forward in their relationship. We see the potential that is within their relationship and what they are both willing to do to find what is worth fighting for. It isn’t an easy process to see them having to rebuild trust and be fully transparent in their relationship, but as they grow in their acceptance of it, we see a beautiful thriving love that they find worth fighting for.

I will be honest while this isn’t my favorite books by this author, I was simply captivated in seeing how they would heal their relationship from the scars and mistrusts that is obviously festering. But what we see is true growth from both of them, and the way they adapt to both of their career choices and finding the balance that their relationship truly deserves. So if you are a fan of this author I can highly recommend these books here.

What do you think of these reviews? Have you read any of these yet? What are your thoughts or insights? Let me know in the comments below!