I am Lover of romance, who indulges in the romantic adventures of literature

My name is Renee, and I am the host of this site. I am a 34 year old woman, on the prowl for her mate, searching out the best of books, exploring the wilds of the imagination and delving into the heart of a beautiful love story.


England-Georgian Era

George I –
Reign: August 1, 1714 – June 11, 1727
During George I reign the powers of the monarchy diminished and Britain began a transition to the modern system of cabinet government led by a prime minister. Towards the end of his reign, actual power was held by Sir Robert Walpole, Great Britain’s first de facto prime minister. George died on a trip to his native Hanover, where he was buried.

George II –
Reign: June 11, 1727 – October 25, 1760
He was the last British monarch to have been born outside of Great Britain, and was famous for his numerous conflicts with his father and, subsequently, with his son. As king, he exercised little control over policy in his early reign, the government instead being controlled by Great Britain’s first de facto Prime Minister, Sir Robert Walpole.

George III –
Reign: October 25, 1760 – January 29, 1820
England rose significantly as a world power at this time despite its constant conflict with Napoleon and the war with America in 1812. The fashions for women complied to a simple style, reflecting the republican values of the era. Men abandoned knee breeches and wigs in favor of trousers and short hair.

Later in his reign George III suffered from recurrent and, eventually, permanent mental illness — it is now generally thought that he suffered from the blood disease porphyria. After a final relapse in 1810, George’s eldest son, George, Prince of Wales ruled as Prince Regent – The Regency era.