M

I am Lover of romance, who indulges in the romantic adventures of literature

My name is Renee, and I am the host of this site. I am a 34 year old woman, on the prowl for her mate, searching out the best of books, exploring the wilds of the imagination and delving into the heart of a beautiful love story.

 

Quickie Book Review-The Longing of Lone Wolves by Lana Pecherczyk

by | May 1, 2022 | Book Reviews | 0 comments

This review may contain spoilers, so fair warning, upon reading the review.

About The Book

A beauty from our time. A fae beast from the future. A curse only she can break… if he lets her close to his heart.

Rush is a Fae Guardian, a wolf-shifter whose enhanced abilities have made him a ruthless protector of Elphyne. His job is to protect the realm from the human enemy, and to ensure the sins of the past never come to pass again lest magic die forever. Well… it was his job until half a century ago when he allowed one night of weakness to distract him from his job. His punishment was a curse worse than death. Now a ghost, he spends his lonely time longing to be part of the living, once again protecting them from monsters… until one washes up on the shores of his lake.

Clarke is beautiful, feisty, fierce, and she’s the only person who can see him.

If he hands her over to the Order, she’s his ticket to having his curse removed, but the more he learns about this human, the more he realizes maybe she’s not the monster he’s trained to believe. In fact, she’s capable of inciting passion he’d never dreamed possible again, but Clarke has a message from the past… sins are already repeating. This time, if they don’t stop the coming evil, it won’t just be magic that dies. It will be everything.

The Witcher meets Beauty and the Beast in this gripping, heart-stopping new epic fantasy romance featuring a band of brothers, shifters, fae protectors and their strong willed women from our time. If you love your books full of page turning action, intrigue, and romantic tension then this book is for you. For fans of Kristen Ashley’s Fantastical series or Sarah J Maas’s adult fantasy romance.

Together we are stronger. Alone, we are nothing.

My Review

The Longing of Lone Wolves was a recommendation that came from a booktuber as this one had sounded so interesting, with it being a dystopian epic fantasy and I was so intrigued. I don’t think I have ever read a book with such a blend of sub-genres and I was curious to see how this author would handle this element. I immediately grabbed up this beauty and was pleased to see that it was with Kindle Unlimited, I went into it pretty quickly and I ended up really loving the world building. The set up of the story is where our heroine, and her two girlfriends had survived the nuclear winter that had happened and had lived in Vegas. Clarke is a thief and does what she needs to in order to survive. But she and her friends were betrayed and then she wakes up to this new world, where no metal or plastic are allowed, where there are fae and shifters and magic and the world has been changed and the only land in the world is “Elphyne”. She meets Rush, who is a fae guardian, who has been cursed where he can’t touch others and is invisible to others except for Clarke. He is determined to hand Clarke over who has magical seer like abilities, so that he can have his curse removed but he doesn’t plan on starting to care for Clarke or that she would end up being his mate.

None of her past transgressions were a part of this world, nothing was stopping her from being a different person . . . one who used her gift for good, not selfish gain.

I absolutely adored this book in many ways, the world building is superb and I adored the way that this author wrote this story and I was fascinated by the set up of the story, The biggest drawback to this story is that it wasn’t super engaging and I really wanted more from this. The pacing was off in this book and it would have been a five star read if the pacing had worked out better for me. But also the romance between Clarke and Rush could have been written to be more attention grabbing. I wasn’t super invested in the characters and just wanted more from these two here. I do think that this series has potential and I am really intrigued by this world, so you can bet that I will be reading more of this series. If you are looking for something more interesting and unique with a epic/high fantasy like setting, then this is a story that you need to grab up

His entire life had been one long winding path with her at the end.

Title: The Longing of Lone Wolves

Author: Lana Pecherczyk

Genre: Dystopian Fantasy Romance

Format: eBook

Source: Kindle Unlimited

Length: 424 Pages

Amazon| Goodreads| LibraryThing| StoryGraph| Literal Club

Book Evaluation

Storytelling Quality: 3.75

Story Itself: 4

Character Development: 4

Writing Style: 4

World Building 4.5

Feels + The Romantic Heart 3.75

Pacing 3.5

Plot 4.25

Cover Art 4.25

Ending 4

Book Ratings

Overall Rating of the Book

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Steam Level

Simmering—soft warm touches and light intimacy

Warm- a medium level of sexual tension, a balance of sexual and emotional intimacy, lighter on the details in the sexual moments.

Steamin’ up the room -the sexual content is more explicit in the language and tone, heavier amount of sexual scenes.

Blazing fire to the building-The prime focus is the sex scenes, scorching hot, and could burn one. Less focus on the emotional intimacy to the relationship.

Trigger/Content Warnings

Sexual Assault, Physical Abuse, Racism

Series Order

Fae Guardians

The Longing of Lone Wolves-Pub 2020 #1 in the Series

The Solace of Sharp Claws-Pub 2020 #2 in the Series

Warlords, Witches and Wolves-Pub 2020 #2.5 in the Series

The Dreams of Broken Kings-Pub 2021 #3 in the Series

The Secrets in Shadow and Blood-Pub 2021 #4 in the Series

A Labyrinth of Fangs and Thorns-Pub 2021 #5 in the Series

A Symphony of Savage Hearts-Pub 2022 #6 in the Series

About The Author

Lana lives in Perth, Western Australia and loves writing Paranormal/ Fantasy and Sci-fi Romance. When she’s not writing, you’ll find her creating art and designing book covers. She also fights evil by moonlight, wins love by daylight and never runs from a real fight.

Website|Twitter|Goodreads|Instagram

You May Also Like…

0 Comments

Leave a Reply