Mini Reviews Edition 9-16-20

Mini Reviews Edition 9-16-20

Mini Reviews Edition 9-16-20Play It Safe by Kristen Ashley
Also in this series: The Mafia And His Angel: Part 1, The Mafia And His Angel: Part 2, The Mafia And His Angel Part 3
Published by Independently published by author on 2015
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Small Town
Pages: 487
Format: eBook
Source: Self Purchased
Goodreads
   AmazonLibrary ThingLibrary ThingLibrary Thing
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
four-flames

No connections. Play it safe. These were the rules Ivey lived her life by.

Until she hit Mustang, Colorado, a perfectly imperfect town where the citizens were welcoming and one of them included the tall, beautiful, macho man rancher cowboy, Grayson Cody.

On the run for a decade, Ivey knew she was supposed to play it safe. But she was tired of being on the run. She wanted a normal. She wanted real. She wanted a home.

And she wanted Grayson Cody.

And Grayson Cody wanted Ivey.

No one who looked at them couldn’t see they belonged together. There was one man in this world for Ivey and one woman in this world for Grayson Cody.

So they fell in love.

But just as quickly as they fell together, they were betrayed and torn apart. Separated for years, Ivey was certain her life would not include her rancher cowboy. Until the town of Mustang reached out to her when Gray was in trouble. Even though she thought he broke her heart, she charged in to help. Then Gray and Ivey discovered they were betrayed and, not only that, Gray had an enemy who would stop at nothing to defeat him.

There are quite a bit of reviews here, but I have read so many so quickly (I have no idea how LOL) but it would take too much time to write full length reviews. So have to downsize them…hope you all enjoy!

Play It Safe is a novel that I just adored in so many ways. I will be honest in that I had tried reading this about a month ago and put it aside ….I just couldn’t get into the beginning. But then I decided to get back to this one just on a whim over this past weekend and boy did I fall head over heels in love with this story. Its a book that isn’t my favorite element necessarily, I really don’t care for those betrayals and being torn apart for years type of story. BUT KA did a brilliant job with this one here. We get to see their beginning,when they first fall in love, the betrayal and then coming back together which was epically beautiful in so many ways. You get so many depths in this story, and we see the importance of seeing these two fighting for their love, because they will have to fight so fiercely but once they do…nothing’ll stand in their way. I couldn’t recommend this one enough for lovers of the second chance reunions

About Kristen Ashley

Kristen Ashley was born in Gary, Indiana, USA. She nearly killed her mother and herself making it into the world, seeing as she had the umbilical cord wrapped around her neck (already attempting to accessorise and she hadn't taken her first breath!).

Kristen grew up in Brownsburg, Indiana but has lived in Denver, Colorado and the West Country of England. Thus she has been blessed to have friends and family around the globe. Her posse is loopy (to say the least) but loopy is good when you want to write.

Kristen was raised in a house with a large and multi-generational family. They lived on a very small farm in a small town in the heartland and existed amongst the strains of Glenn Miller, The Everly Brothers, REO Speedwagon and Whitesnake (and the wardrobes that matched).

Needless to say, growing up in a house full of music, clothes and love was a good way to grow up.

And as she keeps growing up, it keeps getting better.


Mini Reviews Edition 9-16-20Rush by Maya Banks
Series: Breathless #1
Published by Berkley on February 5 2013
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance, BDSM
Pages: 395
Format: eBook
Source: Self Purchased
   AmazonLibrary ThingLibrary ThingLibrary Thing
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
four-flames

Gabe, Jace, and Ash: three of the wealthiest, most powerful men in the country. They’re accustomed to getting anything they want. Anything at all. For Gabe, it’s making one particular fantasy come true with a woman who was forbidden fruit. Now she’s ripe for the picking...

When Gabe Hamilton saw Mia Crestwell walk into the ballroom for his hotel’s grand opening, he knew he was going to hell for what he had planned. After all, Mia is his best friend’s little sister. Except she’s not so little anymore. And Gabe has waited a long time to act on his desires.

Gabe has starred in Mia’s fantasies more than once, ever since she was a teenager with a huge crush on her brother’s best friend. So what if Gabe’s fourteen years older? Mia knows he’s way out of her league, but her attraction has only grown stronger with time. She’s an adult now, and there’s no reason not to act on her most secret desires.

As Gabe pulls her into his provocative world, she realizes there’s a lot she doesn’t know about him or how exacting his demands can be. Their relationship is intense and obsessive, but as they cross the line from secret sexual odyssey to something deeper, their affair runs the risk of being exposed—and vulnerable to a betrayal far more intimate than either expected

It took me a while to get going on the “Breathless” series but I have to say that these books have me HOOKED and boy her erotic romance is HOT. I love the depths to the stories that she writes and she definitely takes these books to the next level. And what makes them so hot is really the level of sexy alpha males and dominance. I love a man who likes to be all he man in the bedroom and the way that Rush is written is just epic. Its a story of two people who have known each other forever, as our hero is best friends with the heroine’s brother. So this only raises the level even more of that taste of the “forbidden” because Jace knows full well the type of man Gabe is especially in the bedroom so is even more protective lol But I was so drawn into this world, the friendship between the three men and this in depth romance that is so hot yet sweet and poignant at times.


Mini Reviews Edition 9-16-20Fever by Maya Banks
Series: Breathless #2
Published by Berkley on April 2 2013
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance
Pages: 416
Format: eBook
Source: Self Purchased
Goodreads
   AmazonLibrary ThingLibrary ThingLibrary Thing
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
four-half-flames

Jace, Ash, and Gabe: three of the wealthiest, most powerful men in the country. They’re accustomed to getting anything they want. Anything at all. For Jace, it’s a woman whose allure takes him completely by surprise...

Jace Crestwell, Ash McIntyre, and Gabe Hamilton have been best friends and successful business partners for years. They’re powerful, they’re imposing, they’re irresistibly sexy, and Jace and Ash share everything—including their women.

When they meet Bethany, Jace begins to feel things he’s never experienced before: jealousy, and a powerful obsession that threatens him, overwhelms him—and excites him beyond control.

Jace isn’t sharing Bethany—with anyone. He’s determined to be the only man in her life, and it’s jeopardizing a lifelong friendship with Ash. Bethany will be his and his alone. Even if it means turning his back on his best friend.

Fever is Jace’s story and I can’t say which book I actually loved MORE….I think I liked both Rush and Fever the same but in different ways of course. In Fever, its Jace’s story. And boy was his book good although it does feature a menage scene in the very beginning. And it was quite interesting in seeing how this author writes it. We also see some tension build between Jace and Ash. They are closer than brothers and always share their women…but now Jace is conflicted because he is jealous of Ash even coming close to his woman. So we see how he becomes so divided. the heroine in this book is fabulous and unique in what her circumstances are….just shows the beauty in everyone being deserving of a HEA!

About Maya Banks

My name is Maya Banks and I live in Texas with my husband and three children and our assortment of pets. I’m more of a cat person, but my daughter became convinced she NEEDED a dog. So convinced in fact that it became her mission to convince her father and me. She prepared a two page handwritten proposal that detailed WHY she needed a dog, and well, after I sent her to her father (I knew he wouldn’t tell her no) we embarked on the search for the perfect dog. The journey that was two hours away and that I got pulled over for speeding while I was on the phone with my agent who had an offer from a publisher for one of my books… The officer wasn’t impressed. He wrote me a ticket anyway. Thus, I now tell my daughter that her dog turned into one very expensive concession! But isn’t he cute?

When I’m not writing, I love to hunt and fish with my family. We all love the outdoorsMaya's Dog and go on family hunting trips every year. We also love to travel. One of our more recent trips was to Scotland, which was every bit as comical as National Lampoon’s European Vacation. You know the part about “Look kids, Big Ben, Parliament” as they went round and round the roundabouts? Yeah, that was us, only we couldn’t even get out of the airport in Glasgow without hitting three of those suckers.

Perhaps the most rewarding aspect of a writing career is getting to meet so many wonderful readers. There’s nothing better than dishing books with someone who loves the romance genre as much as I do. Romance readers are passionate and vocal. We love our books, love our happily ever afters, and we love to spend time talking to others about our favorites. THIS is why I love my job so much, and I’m so grateful to readers who gave ME a chance when I began my career. So thank you.


Mini Reviews Edition 9-16-20Creole Kingpin by Meghan March
Series: The Magnolia Duet #1
Published by Independently published by author on March 10 2020
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Dark Romance
Pages: 266
Format: eBook
Source: Self Purchased
Goodreads
   AmazonLibrary Thing
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
four-flames

New York Times bestselling author Meghan March goes back to New Orleans and the world of Lachlan Mount with a dangerous and bold new anti-hero.

The thing about ghosts is they’re supposed to stay dead.

That’s exactly what I am, but I can’t stay away from Magnolia Marie Maison for one more day, let alone another year.

We’ve already got fifteen of those between us.

As it stands, she’ll want to kill me as soon as she lays eyes on me. And knowing her, she’s completely up to the task.

But I’m a man on a mission, and I’ve got everything riding on this.

So, here I come, Magnolia. This ghost is ready for whatever you got.

After all, there’s only one way I want this to end—’til death do us part

This was such a FUN duet by the amazing Meghan March. I had such a blast with this book in so many ways and it takes us back to the Mount Trilogy—with the underworld of Lachlan Mount and Kiera and so much so I was tempted to do a re read of their story. If you loved their story and wanted to know Magnolia’s story than read this duet and you will adore it every bit as I did here. I was really drawn into this one here because of many aspects but Magnolia and Moses’ story is so beautiful, yet heartbreaking and real. I really loved a alpha male that has to grovel to win the heart of his woman back. And boy does Magnolia make him work for it which is well deserved and we see what has carved her into the woman she is. And seeing the first half of their story was so touching in so many ways but of course it ends on a bit of a cliffhanger (not as bad as she is known to do at times but it still there—make sure you have book two ready to read )


Mini Reviews Edition 9-16-20Madam Temptress by Meghan March
Series: The Magnolia Duet #2
Published by Independently published by author on April 14 2020
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Dark Romance, Mafia
Pages: 236
Format: eBook
Source: Self Purchased
Goodreads
   AmazonLibrary Thing
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
four-flames

I didn't choose this path. No one would.
I played the cards I was dealt.
The life made me. The city made me.
I won't apologize for who I've become.

Moses wouldn't have me any other way.

He says he want forever, and I'm starting to believe him.
But I can't outrun my past, and my sins are catching up with me.
It's time to atone, I'll gladly pay my penance.

We might be getting our second chance, but we have to make it out alive first.

In the second book of the series we see a beautiful conclusion to the tale between Moses and Magnolia and we also get the full reveal of the secrets that are between both of them and why Moses left Magnolia all the years previous. What I was really drawn to is how Magnolia reacts to this secrets and boy I heaved a big sigh of relief. Because of the way she has lived her life and all the horrors she has seen she knows what is most important and holds her relationship with Moses worth fighting for now that he is back for good and forever. I adored seeing Moses and Magnolia together and even though their HEA wasn’t quite what I wanted for them to be honest, I felt it fitting as well. Meghan March definitely worked her magic in this duet and a must read for everyone who has been drawn into this connecting world of hers.

About Meghan March

Meghan March has been known to wear camo face paint and tromp around in woods wearing mud-covered boots, all while sporting a perfect manicure. She’s also impulsive, easily entertained, and absolutely unapologetic about the fact that she loves to read and write smut. Her past lives include slinging auto parts, selling lingerie, making custom jewelry, and practicing corporate law. Writing books about dirty talking alpha males and the strong, sassy women who bring them to their knees is by far the most fabulous job she’s ever had.


Mini Reviews Edition 9-16-20The Mafia and His Obsession: Part One by Lylah James
Also in this series: The Mafia And His Angel: Part 1, The Mafia And His Angel: Part 2, The Mafia And His Angel Part 3
Series: Tainted Hearts #4
on July 24 2018
Genres: Dark Romance, Mafia, Contemporary Romance
Pages: 305
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Goodreads
   Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
four-half-flames

My life only has one purpose, and it's to protect them—my family.

Whether I fight, maim, or kill the enemy, it makes no difference to me. If have to take a bullet for my family, I would embrace death with a goddamn smile on my face.

When their safety is compromised, I put my life on the line and made a deal with the devil. I never questioned it, not even once...

...Until her.

All it takes is one glance. With her pretty eyes now imprinted on my soul, the foundation my life has been built on is shifting. My loyalty has become hazy, and my life has a new meaning. There's a pull between us that's undeniable, and a carnal desire that threatens to ruin us both. It has turned me into a man obsessed.

My perfect, well-planned life is now in chaos, and a choice needs to be made.

My family…or my obsession?

I took way too long reading this book and I don’t know why when I loved the first three books and now we get the brother’s story of the king of the underworld. And I have to say this book in the beginning SHOCKED me to the core. And anyone that reads the first few pages will know exactly what I mean. At first you think the worst of the worst has happened, until it isn’t and the truth is revealed a bit later. But boy I wasn’t sure how I felt LOL but Lylah James totally redeems the story very quickly and I couldn’t stop from being compltely immersed into this story and seeing this forbidden love grow into what it becomes. And we have a heroine that is deaf so I adore seeing a more contemporary setting seeing a character struggle with certain disabilities but still be strong and vibrant. This is not a story for the innocent though —it is a dark mafia romance and there were some things that I struggled with BUT I adored the romance as a whole and the relationship with Vicktor and his family.


Mini Reviews Edition 9-16-20The Mafia and His Obsession: Part Two by Lylah James
Also in this series: The Mafia And His Angel: Part 1, The Mafia And His Angel: Part 2, The Mafia And His Angel Part 3
Series: Tainted Hearts #5
on June 11 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Dark Romance, Mafia
Pages: 499
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Goodreads
   Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
four-half-flames

𝑰'𝒗𝒆 𝒍𝒊𝒗𝒆𝒅 𝒊𝒏 𝒕𝒉𝒆 𝒅𝒂𝒓𝒌𝒏𝒆𝒔𝒔 𝒇𝒐𝒓 𝒔𝒐 𝒍𝒐𝒏𝒈.
𝑵𝒐 𝒍𝒊𝒇𝒆. 𝑵𝒐 𝒄𝒉𝒐𝒊𝒄𝒆.

The Devil owned me, body and soul - but not my heart. It was the only part of me which could never be claimed...

...𝑜𝑟 𝑠𝑜 𝐼 𝑡ℎ𝑜𝑢𝑔ℎ𝑡.

Viktor weaved his way into my heart and imprinted on my soul. He made it clear he was there to stay. Even when the darkness blinded us, he never left my side.

What we share was sweet, untamed and wild.
𝑩𝒖𝒕 𝒊𝒕 𝒘𝒂𝒔 𝒇𝒐𝒓𝒃𝒊𝒅𝒅𝒆𝒏, 𝒅𝒂𝒏𝒈𝒆𝒓𝒐𝒖𝒔 𝒂𝒏𝒅 𝒕𝒉𝒆 𝒐𝒖𝒕𝒄𝒐𝒎𝒆 𝒘𝒐𝒖𝒍𝒅 𝒐𝒏𝒍𝒚 𝒃𝒆 𝒑𝒂𝒊𝒏𝒇𝒖𝒍.

A game is being played. The arena is a bloodbath, and the Game Masters are brutal. In the end, only one will survive.

𝑶𝒏𝒍𝒚 𝒐𝒏𝒆 𝑲𝒊𝒏𝒈 𝒘𝒊𝒍𝒍 𝒃𝒆 𝒍𝒆𝒇𝒕 𝒔𝒕𝒂𝒏𝒅𝒊𝒏𝒈

In the conclusion of this series or at least this couple we have such a powerful story that is heartbreaking in many moments but it delivers a HEA for the couple so I was more than content with how it ended although it saddened me what happens towards the end. You need to put your guard up though or at least prepare yourself, I even read the ending first to make sure the characters I care the most about lived because at the end of the day its a suspenseful mafia romance. We truly see the darkness of this world and that is why Lylah James really highlights in here but what was even more powerful was in seeing that love does conquer all because this pair does have to really overcome so much to read their happy ending they both deserve.

About Lylah James

Author of The Mafia and His Angel. Creator of Alessio Ivanshov and Aylessio.

Reading is her first love and always will be.
Writing is her passion. She writes because the voices in her head won't stop and because they deserve to be heard and read. Lylah James writes about drool worthy and total alpha males, with strong and sweet heroines. She makes her readers cry - sob their eyes out, swoon, curse, rage and fall in love. Mostly known as the Queen of cliffhanger and the #evilauthorwithablacksoul, she likes to break her readers' hearts and then mend them again.

She uses all her spare time to write. If she is not studying, sleeping, writing or working - she can found with her nose buried in a good romance book, preferably with a hot alpha male


Mini Reviews Edition 9-16-20Learn My Lesson by Katee Robert
on October 29 2019
Genres: Erotic Romance, BDSM
Pages: 253
Format: eBook
Source: Self Purchased
Goodreads
   Amazon
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
five-flames

A single night with Meg and I’m willing to do anything to save her from Hades, the man holding her captive, victim to his every whim.

A bargain with the devil himself seems a small price to pay in order for Meg to go free… Until I learn that she’s exactly where she wants to be.

She’s Queen to Hades’s King.

And I’m the fool that walked right into their trap.

The same fool who desires them both as much as I hate them. I can’t resist Meg’s touch—or stop from being drawn to Hades’s dark desires. By the time I realize just how deep a game he’s playing, it may be too late…

For all of us.

I will say that I am learning to really enjoy this series that Katee Robert has been writing but they are some of the HOTTEST that I have ever read from her so far. So fair warning on that one. I love seeing the unique play on the fairy tales, not really a big fan of making villains out of the hero from the stories BUT Katee Robert really shows a unique side to these villains and seeing them find their HEA. This one is a menage love story that is based on the “Hercules” tale where our characters Meg, Hades and Hercules have a fiery romance. The sex scenes were (fanning your face) hot so warning you all on that one, and it does play on the more kinky side of things. Even though I don’t read menage too often, I was really drawn into this one. All three have such unique dynamics so I really admired how Robert really blended this romance together and just unified all three so beautifully.

About Katee Robert

Katee Robert learned to tell stories at her grandpa’s knee. Her favorites then were the rather epic adventures of The Three Bears, but at age twelve she discovered romance novels and never looked back.

Though she dabbled in writing, life got in the way—as it often does—and she spent a few years traveling, living in both Philadelphia and Germany. In between traveling and raising her two wee ones, she had the crazy idea that she’d like to write a book and try to get published.

Her first novel was an epic fantasy that, God willing, will never see the light of day. From there, she dabbled in YA and horror, before finally finding speculative romance. Because, really, who wouldn’t want to write entire books about the smoking-hot relationships between two people?

She now spends her time—when not lost in Far Reach worlds—playing imaginary games with her wee ones, writing, ogling men, and planning for the inevitable zombie apocalypse.