Book Review-Duke of Sin

Book Review-Duke of SinDuke of Sin by Adele Ashworth
Series: The Duke Trilogy #1
Published by Harper Collins on March 2nd 2010
Genres: Historical Romance, Regency Era, Romance
Pages: 384
Format: Paperback
AmazonLibrary ThingLibrary Thing
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Vivian Rael–Lamont lives peacefully in the small town of Penzance, Cornwall, where everybody believes her to be widowed, when in truth she left London unwilling to let her husband's exploits taint her family name. All's well, until someone threatens to reveal her married status and expose her to scandal – unless she can obtain an original signed copy of a Shakespearian play, owned by none other than the reclusive and mysterious William Raleigh, Duke of Trent. Vivian is unexpectedly drawn to Raleigh and, for the price of passion, he ends up joining her quest to catch the blackmailer, a discovery which only leads them to more danger. And although their bond only grows stronger, they soon realise the fruitlessness of their relationship – a married woman of noble background cannot enter into an illicit affair with the Duke of Sin.or can she?

This is the second time that I have read The Duke Of Sin, of course its been years. So when I saw this, I just had to pick it up again and start reading it. I love reading from Adele Ashworth, her books are always filled with characters that captivate the heart and with a tender love that develops between the two characters, that I find myself aching for the same kind of love.

Vivien Dael Lamont is a thirty five year old woman, who is legally seperated from her husband. Her husband is a opium user and she paid him alot of money so she could build a life for herself. She builds up a respectable floral business. One day, her world comes crashing down all around her. A actor by the name of Gilbert Montague, blackmails her saying he has evidence of proof that she is not the widow that she has told everyone else. That she is in fact still married, and that she and her husband decided on a legal separation. But he is willing to hand over the evidence, if she will retrieve a sonnet of Shakespeare’s from none other than the Duke of Trent. She goes to the Duke of Sin with a proposition, knowing she can’t tell him the truth behind her really wanting the document. They come to a agreement that he will give it over, if she pays him with herself as a companion to him. Vivien knows that she has no choice, so she says yes. William, the Duke of Trent, doesn’t trust Vivien or her reasons behind wanting the Sonnet. So he hires a private investigator, who finds out that there was a stranger that came to her home, and who had never come there before. So he sends a couple men after him, to follow him so that they can discover the mystery. Even though William, has been rumored to have murdered his wife, Vivien comes to a knowledge after getting to know him that he could never murder anyone. Although William guards himself, since he strongly suspects that she is hiding something from him, even so he finds that his defenses are faltering and that he is falling in love with her. As their bond strengthen, and the passion and love builds, there is a danger that will sneak upon them both and strengthen everything that they hold dear.

It been years since I have read this book, and I only remembered how well I love the story and how well written it was. I love most of the aspect of the story, except for the fact that Vivien is still married. Although that certain situation is resolved, but I am picky about love stories like that. That was my only problem with the book though, other than that I truly was endeared to this book. There was such a sensual feeling throughout the whole book, that set my senses on fire. There was also such a tender love that develops between the two. I found myself wanting more after each page, and looking forward to each page. It was definitely a book that I could hardly put down, so I am looking forward to read the rest of the series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *