Book Review-Lost Rider by Harper Sloane

Posted April 26, 2017 by Loverofromance in Book Reviews / 4 Comments

Book Review-Lost Rider by Harper Sloane

I received this book for free from Pocket in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Review-Lost Rider by Harper SloaneLost Rider by Harper Sloan
Also in this series: Kiss My Boots
Series: Coming Home #1
Published by Pocket Books on April 25th 2017
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Small Town, American West
Pages: 400
Format: eARC
Source: Pocket
ISBN: 1501155199
Goodreads
AmazonKoboBarnes and NobleLibrary Thing
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
three-half-flames

In Lost Rider, the first Western romance in New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Harper Sloan’s Coming Home series, an injured rodeo star encounters an old flame but will she be just what he needs to get back in the saddle?
Maverick Austin Davis is forced to return home after a ten-year career as a rodeo star. After one too many head injuries, he’s off the circuit and in the horse farming business, something he’s never taken much of a shine to, but now that it’s his late father’s legacy, familial duty calls. How will Maverick find his way after the only dream he ever had for himself is over?
Enter Leighton Elizabeth James, an ugly duckling turned beauty from Maverick’s childhood—his younger sister’s best friend, to be exact, and someone whose heart he stomped all over when she confessed her crush to him ten years back. Now Leighton is back in Maverick’s life, no longer the insecure, love-stricken teen—and Maverick can’t help but take notice. Sparks fly between them, but will Leighton be able to open her heart to the one man who broke it all those years ago?
Written in the vein of Diana Palmer and Lindsay McKenna, this Texas-set series is filled with sizzle, heart, and plenty of cowboys!

Reading Challenges:
  • Books N'Tunes Reading Challenge 2017

  • Lost Rider is the first book of a western ranching family. We have three siblings, two brothers and a sister. Our hero, is the oldest of the three. Maverick Davis, is a professional bull rider. But when his latest fall causes a head injury, that prevents him from riding again, Maverick has to face his past and return home when learning that his father died. Maverick has some bitter feelings toward his father, which is understandable since the father of these siblings could be pretty abusive especially toward Maverick the most. When Maverick was just a teenager, he broke all ties to his home and left including the one girl he broke with his need to get away and find freedom. This is a second chance romance, and one that I truly adored. Of course, I do really enjoy this trope. But I do love the way these two come together. I will say that in the beginning I didn’t like the hero very much at all. He treats Leighton pretty horribly at first, and I just didn’t like that but I did enjoy seeing the way they find their way back to each other, building trust and affection again. Leighton was a heroine I really liked, she has spunk especially when making Maverick prove himself.

    My first taste of this author was so fun and honestly, I really had a blast with this book. I wasn’t expecting to enjoy it as much as I did but really I admired the way this author made me fall in love with this couple and this family. We have the siblings, who are both awesome characters and really add some unique diversity to this story. Especially the sister Quinn, who has pizazz. She is spunky and spirited and she added a certain flair to the story that I really liked. The romance that builds between Maverick and Leighton isn’t an easy road especially at first. But what really makes these two so memorable, is seeing them connect emotionally and I respected Maverick making sure that Leighton knew how genuine and sincere he was about her before taking their relationship to the next level. He wants to prove himself to her, and when you find out the truth about his past you understand more fully why he acted the way he did and he definitely redeemed himself.

    You saved me, Leigh. You brought me back and showed me that I wasn’t as lost as I fear I was. All that darkness and pain around me, you are the reason I beat them back. Trust me when I say this, your love gave me a reason to live again, and I will spend the rest of my life making sure you know how grateful I am to have that gift.

    This story was romantic and full of all the feels. Its a love story that sweeps you off your feet and the reason this book made such a strong impression on me was the heartfelt emotion and seeing the beautiful way these two work through the issues of the past and find a common ground and build a future together.

    Books N Tunes Reading Challenge

    I love this song and this man’s voice is beautiful, but from the beginning of the book this song was running through my mind. So I had to share it.

    Click To Buy On Amazon

    About Harper Sloan

    Harper is a NEW YORK TIMES, WALL STREET JOURNAL and USA TODAY bestselling author residing in Georgia with her husband and three daughters. She has a borderline unhealthy obsession with books, hibachi, tattoos and Game of Thrones. When she isn't writing you can almost always find her with a book in hand.

    , , , , , ,

    • I enjoyed this one, even though I was unsure about it! I am excited for Quinn’s story next though!!

    • I used to love Western-themed romance novels. Man, I remember the Texas! trilogy by Sandra Brown that completely took over my life for one weekend. Love, love, love. It’s definitely been a while. I don’t know if I can easily just get back on the saddle again, but sure brings back memories. 😉

    • Oh neat! I was curious about this one so I’m glad to get the down-lo on it. Sounds like I need to be prepared to weather some dislike at the beginning until I get to know the other parts of him. Glad she was a feisty one.

    • this does look like a lot of fun, going to have to add it to my TBR jar 😀 I love stories like this