Book Review-Once Loved by Cecy Robson

January 25, 2017   Loverofromance   Book Reviews   6 Comments

Book Review-Once Loved by Cecy Robson

Book Review-Once Loved by Cecy RobsonOnce Loved by Cecy Robson
Also in this series: Once Perfect
Series: Shattered Past #2
Published by Loveswept on January 1st 1970
Genres: Contemporary Romance, New Adult
Pages: 244
Format: eBook
Source: Self Purchased
 photo Untitled design4_zpsrqtvqcfg.png| photo BampN4_zps0meemmw3.png| photo LT_zpss05mqapo.png
   
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star
four-flames

He’s the campus golden boy. She’s picking up the pieces of her broken past. But in Cecy Robson’s scorching novel of second chances—perfect for readers of Monica Murphy and J. Lynn—their differences only make their connection more explosive.
Every memory Lety Tres Santos has from her childhood comes with a scar—some emotional, some physical. Her father is an abusive drug addict, and her mother enables his destructive behavior. College offers Lety a fresh start . . . until her father finds a way to ruin that, too. Now, after losing her scholarship to kick off junior year, Lety must somehow stay in school, pay tuition, and turn a deaf ear to the whispers that follow her. And she intends to do it all without Brody Quaid’s help.
Brody is a lacrosse star, a 4.0 student—and as a freshman, he fell hard for the beautiful and spirited Lety. But their relationship crashed and burned because he couldn’t break through the walls she’s put up around her heart. With Lety hurting more than ever, Brody strives to win her back and make her believe in real love and true partnership. That will mean opening up secrets locked away in his own past—and trusting someone more than he’s ever dared.
Lety knows how painful it can be to depend on the wrong man. She also knows how much Brody wants to do this the right way. But it takes more than sizzling desire to move on and build a future together.

Summary

Lety let the damage of her past come between her and the man she met and fell in love with. But this time Brody isn’t going to let her go without a fight. Brody fell in love with Lety but he knows that she is hurting and he refuses to let it continue to happen. But Lety has to do some damage control from what her father has done. She is at risk at losing her funding for school, and so she is going to have to work overtime to make it work. Her new job is aiding in a father and son who both have physical disabilities due to a accident. She never imagined that this torn family would be Brody’s family and tensions are high between them. Lety soon realizes how different of an uprbringing Brody had compared to her. And even though she knows that she isn’t good for him she isn’t ready to let him go yet but Brody is determined to show her how right they are together…

The Hero

Brody’s life may seem like he has everything going for him. Good grade, socially accepted, financially set for life but his life is not what it really seems. He has his own past trauma to deal with, and is still in love with the woman who broke him. Brody can’t fully understand the reasons behind Lety and why she hurt him, but he recognizes the same pain in her eyes that he feels. Brody was such a wonderful and sweet hero. I love how supportive he is of Lety and never judges her or her past. He makes his own mistakes and has his own inner demons that he battles with, but I enjoyed the way that he treat Lety. He is charming, protective and has a gentle but firm presence that you just want to see more of. And he is so playful and loves to tease her. Definitely a character you don’t want to miss out on

“If we’re not sleeping, then what will we do?

“I’m not discussing what happens when we’re alone, Brody.”

“Will we kiss?”

“Brody”

“Will we touch?”

Brody.

“Letz, we’re adults”

“Then behave like one. I’m working”

The Heroine

Lety grew up in a home where abuse was commonplace. Her father was extremely controlling and abusive and paid no consequences. Her mother just let it happen and blamed her own children if they fought against their father. Lety is now in college, and with her brother Mateo having gone against their father, she assumed that her life could get better and she wouldn’t have to fear her own father. But he is coming back into her life in destructive ways and she fears what it will do with her relationship with Brody. Lety is strong willed, courageous and hardworking. I love how much she is willing to sacrifice to make a better life for herself.

Plot and Story Line

Once Perfect was a outstanding story and I just fell in love with these characters and seeing more of the Tres Santos family. Lety is next in age, and is Mateo’s younger sister (Mateo was our hero in book one) and boy I loved her strength of character. I love her inner strength especially when you know the type of home that she has grown up in and it was pleasant. She struggles with trust and affection except from her siblings. She can be very prideful at times, she doesn’t want anyone to do anything for her or help or. I understand why, considering how she was raised, but she also learns that its okay to accept help from those that care. The real changing point of the story is Brody. He is the steady rock in the relationship and I loved that. He never gives up on Lety even when she tries to push him away. Their story is full of drama and suspense and growth. We see slow positive changes happen with these characters and I love seeing the character growth that defines this story. Cecy Robson kept me fascinated and captivated by their story.

The Cover

I just love the way they did this cover…it reflects the story so very well. I like the stance of his pose and the way the light and shadows reflect the tone of the book.

Overall View

Once Loved is a heart winning romance that captivates the reader with powerful emotion, pure talent of writing, a story that will pack a punch!!

Click To Buy On Amazon

About Cecy Robson

CECY (pronounced Sessy) ROBSON is the new adult and contemporary romance author of the Shattered Past series, the O’Brien Family novels and upcoming Carolina Beach novels, as well as the award-winning author of the Weird Girls urban fantasy romance series. A 2016 double nominated RITA finalist for Once Pure and Once Kissed, Cecy is a recovering Jersey girl living in the South who enjoys carbs way too much, and exercise way too little. Gifted and cursed with an overactive imagination, you can typically find her on her laptop silencing the yappy characters in her head by telling their stories.

, , , , ,

  • This one was my favorite in the series. I just adored Lety and Brody. I am glad you enjoyed it as well!

  • This looks great. I haven’t been reading a ton of NA lately, but I do love J.Lynn so I should check this one out.

  • *pets the cover* I want the book because of it, but it does sound good too lmao

  • Love revisiting this series and the Tres Santos family through your reviews. Lety was a tough cookie, but I was cheering hard for her and Brody to get their HEA.

  • I remember seeing Sophia’s review of Once Perfect! She had me intrigued – I love MMA romances. 😀 But in this book, I must say – Brody is definitely my type of hero (or one of them, anyway). I love that teaser you shared. 😉 I’m glad you’ve enjoyed this series, Renee! Great review. =)

    Alyssa @ The Eater of Books!

  • I should try these