ARC Book Review-Mad For The Plaid by Karen Hawkins

Posted August 18, 2016 by Loverofromance in Book Reviews / 10 Comments

ARC Book Review-Mad For The Plaid by Karen Hawkins

I received this book for free from Pocket in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Book Review-Mad For The Plaid by Karen HawkinsMad for the Plaid by Karen Hawkins
Also in this series: The Prince Who Loved Me, The Prince and I, The Princess Wore Plaid
Series: The Oxenburg Princes #3
Published by Pocket Books on January 1st 1970
Genres: Historical Romance, Regency Era, Scottish Highlands
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: Pocket
Goodreads
   AmazonKobo
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
three-flames

The third captivating, sizzling Scottish historical romance in New York Times bestseller Karen Hawkins's Princes of Oxenburg series. Fans of Julia Quinn, Monica McCarty and Julie Garwood will be enchanted by this dazzling read.
Prince Nikolai Romanovin is bored out of his bejeweled crown with London's society scene. If he has to make inane small talk or dance with one more tongue-tied virgin, he might actually run off. So when he gets word his beloved grandmother might be in danger back in his homeland of Oxenburg, Nik is all too willing to rush to the estate she's been staying in in the snow-capped mountains of Scotland. Arriving in secret only to find his grandmother missing, Nik devises a plan to switch identities with a member of his honor guard so he can move around freely without the pomp and circumstance that comes with the Crown Prince title. He relishes the freedom that comes with losing his title, until he spots her...
While her five older sisters all enjoyed seasons, got married to men of high station, and had children of their own, Lyssa, the baby of the family, was left at home to be raised by her absent father and her sharp-witted, but ailing grandmother after losing her mother in childbirth. Now twenty-nine years old, the sole caretaker of her grandmother, and the entrenched mistress of the castle, Lyssa has resigned herself to living at the castle and enjoying the amusements offered - spending time with her grandmother, copious amounts of reading, wild rides through the moors, and the occasional ball in the local town. All in all, it's a satisfying, if sedate, life . . . But when she meets a guard more handsome, and far more arrogant and sure of himself than any man she's ever met, she's determined to figure out his secrets, no matter the cost.
Don't miss the previous sublime Princes of Oxenburg books: The Prince Who Loved Me,The Prince And I and The Princess Wore Plaid. And for more umissable Scottish historical romance, catch her amazing Duchess Diaries series.

My Review UpdatedSummary

Prince Nikolai is finding politics and social circumstances boring and dull. He is wanting for something more than what he has. When he receives word that his grandmother has been kidnapped he goes straight to the estate she had been staying at up in the Scotland mountains. Where he meets the unique and strong willed Lyssa. Lyssa has five sisters that enjoyed their own seasons, met their husbands, fell in love and have plenty of babies. But Lyssa, knows that life will never be for her. She knows she is plain to look at, and she is content to hide away at her fathers estate and take care of the those depending on her. Its a very practical and satisfactory life. But from the moment that she meets Prince Nikolai, she wants something more, a life with passion. As Nikolai and Lyssa journey together with their small group in an attempt to rescue his grandmother, they will discover treachery, mystery, danger and above all a love to fight for!

Plot and Story Line

Mad For The Plaid is the final full novel of the Oxenburg Princes series and boy what a blast I have had with this book!! I tell ya, I always forget the fun banter that this author creates and BOOM —I get swept back up into one of her romantic tales that sweep me off my feet. This is Nikolai’s story, and I have been excited to read his story ever since we stumbled upon these delectable princes. Nikolai has a different course set for him, as he is the crown prince…his life has been a hard one. Even though he has had his family, it hasn’t been easy not being able to play or have fun like his brothers have had. So Nikolai has a more serious toned personality than the others have. But Lyssa brings out the playful side of him out. At first, the argue ALOT….sometimes over the silliest things. And their bantering was so fun, I honestly couldn’t get enough of it.  They have some great chemistry but don’t know exactly how to explore it quite yet and they learn as they go along. This story did turn into a more “forbidden love” theme which I wasn’t fully expecting. For Nikolai, even when he realizes how much he truly loves Lyssa, he doesn’t want his life for her. He doesn’t want it to change her in any way. But Lyssa is strong and has a temper even if she has a more sweet toned nature, she stands her ground. And the grandmother really helps these two out. Now we don’t see much of her until the end of the book, so there is more focus on the actual romance that develops between Nikolai and Lyssa. Such a wonderful conclusion to a fabulous series, I hope it the final novella we get more of these four brothers and their wives!!!

The Cover

Sweet and charming!! I love how romantic it feels….it gives off such a happy and cheerful tone!!!

Overall View

Mad For The Plaid is a romance you can get behind and will give you the feels! Its a love story that delights, charms, and enchants!!!

Series Order (2)Click On Title For Buy Link

About The Author Updated

About Karen Hawkins

New York Times and USA Today best-selling author Karen Hawkins is known for her wonderfully humorous and emotion-tugging historical and contemporary romances. The author of over 30 novels, Karen writes for a living between shopping for shoes, playing around on Facebook and Pinterest, looking for fun items for Hawkins Manor, and napping, although usually not at the same time. Sometimes, for fun, she takes Instagram pictures of her two rescue dogs, Sadie and Teke, and posts them online.

Yeah, she's a wild one.

Karen lives in balmy Orlando, Florida, with her husband, aka Hot Cop, and her two dogs. Her children are both out of college and have become productive, non-violent members of society. Karen writes six to eight hours a day when not obsessively reading research books on Regency-era Scotland, snacking on chocolate, or looking out the windows of her house and thinking about gardening. Her hobbies include sculpting, oil painting, playing badminton, and -- ok, ok, she doesn't have any hobbies, but if she did, she's sure they'd be something refined and fascinating.

, , , , , ,

  • Michele H

    Gotta love a romance with fun bantering and some sizzling chemistry. I don’t remember reading this one over the years by Hawkins so I’m sure I’ll be picking it up now. 🙂 Nice review!

    • Oh you need to grab this one up Michele!!! Karen Hawkins is so wonderful, I just love her books.

  • Ooh this sounds like another good one. You’re on a roll this week, huh? Another book going on my to buy list. You should really stop writing excellent reviews because my bank account is not appreciative. Ha!

    • Oh I am on a roll, every book I have read this past week has been amazing. You definitely need to buy this one. This author is so worth it….your bank will thank you hehe

  • Love fun bantering.

    • its so fun to see in a romance…and Karen Hawkins does a fabulous job with fun bantering.

  • I saw this one on NG, but I got less ebook reading time and saaad, but I want it

    • oh NO!!!!!! You need to get this one…so good. You would really love it.

  • Ann Lorz

    Her books are always fun to read!

  • This sounds like a fun series! I like the sound of this one and how they go on an adventure to rescue his grandmother and along to way finding danger and romance. It’s nice that even while this hero is more serious she brings out his more playful side. Great review!