Book Review-Highland Heat by Jennifer Haymore

June 18, 2016 Loverofromance Book Reviews 6 Comments , , , , , ,

Book Review-Highland Heat by Jennifer Haymore

Book Review-Highland Heat by Jennifer HaymoreHighland Heat by Jennifer Haymore
Also in this series: A Highlander's Heart, Highland Temptation
Series: Highland Knights #1
Published by Loveswept on November 24th 2015
Genres: Historical Romance, Regency Era, Scottish Highlands, Military Romance, Espionage
Pages: 247
Format: eBook
Source: Self Purchased
Goodreads
   AmazonKoboBarnes and NobleLibrary Thing
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
four-flames

Perfect for readers of Maya Banks and Monica McCarty, Jennifer Haymore’s seductive new Highland Knights series begins with an electrifying tale of class warfare, fierce loyalties, and forbidden love.  With blood still drying on the front lines at Waterloo, Lady Grace Carrington helps an injured soldier to a British medical tent. Though she believes she’s pulled him to safety, in fact she has put them both in grave danger: Because when his brilliant blue eyes meet hers, the passionate Scottish sergeant kisses her in a way that leaves her breathless and trembling. As the obedient daughter of an earl, Grace shouldn’t be tempted by someone so far below her station. But as a red-blooded woman, she longs for so much more.   As far as Duncan Mackenzie is concerned, getting stabbed in the arm was the best thing that ever happened to him. When he wakes on the battlefield, the sight of Grace’s lovely face sets his soul aflame. As an enlisted man and a farmer’s son, however, pursuing his guardian angel means facing the wrath of London society, not to mention his own superiors in the British Army. Aye, but he’d risk all that and more just to keep her in his arms.

Divider

My Review Updated

Summary 

Lady Grace Carrington, is in France to be her sister’s companion while she tries to reconcile with her husband. Grace after a big battle goes out in search of British soldiers who are alive and need aid. She stumbles across Duncan Mackenzie, a highlander fighting the French. Sparks fly between them, and there is a instant chemistry they feel for each other. But once Duncan is recovered, they travel with the Major, back to England and to receive his orders. Grace and Duncan know that there can never be a relationship between them. Grace is a daughter of a titled lord, and Duncan is a mere Scot’s farmers son, serving in the military. Both feel a connection to each other they crave to have, but know its impossible. But soon Duncan and Grace end up interacting with each other, rekindling what they feel for each other, and soon they will have to make a choice: if their love is worth the sacrifice to be together?

The Hero 

Duncan Mackenzie is a man who is loyal and true to what he believes in. He is a warrior and a Scot and is dedicated to fighting for the crown if need be. Duncan even though he is close to his family, hasn’t seen his parents or his lovely six sisters for a few years and he craves his Scottish homeland. But his duties take precedence. When he meets the lovely Grace, he knows he can never be good enough for her but loves her despite their class differences. What I admired about Duncan is how he embraced life to the fullest. He is loyal to his men and to the Carrington family, and the vows he makes. But he also likes to live life in the moment, and not waste energy on circumstances he can’t change.

The Heroine 

Grace Carrington, is a woman that has always done her duty and did what was necessary. Even though her father is strict, she does what she can to prove herself to him. Grace is a loyal sister, and I loved how true she is to Claire and helping her when she can. Grace has rarely acted on her inner emotions until she meets Duncan. We see her character open up to her needs and desires, and fighting for what is right for her and not what others expect. I truly liked Grace, and she seemed to be a good match for Duncan. She stretches herself and learns certain aspects of herself that she has never experienced. I grew to respect her quite a bit especially when she learns to fight for her own happiness.

Plot and Story Line 

Highland Heat was a fun and satisfying read and I had a good time with this pair!! I am glad that I had read the first book since they go hand in hand. They take place around the same time, so I do recommend reading the first book first, it will make more sense. I can never get enough of Jennifer Haymore, and she does great with writing in this era, I did enjoy the forbidden romance theme the author used. I don’t read them too often, so its a real delight to see a couple fight the circumstances to find a way to be together. I loved their class differences, and it worked out in a way I wasn’t really expecting, I knew that they would find a way but boy Haymore took me on a ride of adventure before we got there. At the beginning of the story, we see some powerful chemistry and what a first kiss!!! Whew, that really blew me away and I easily got caught up in the moment where these two are concerned. We see once they return to England, that they learn how to fight against what is expected of them and embrace what they have in a almost freeing way. The conflict that they face was just the right amount, not too powerful for the story but not too light either. We also see more of the Highland Knights and I can’t wait to read more of these sexy Scots!!!

The Cover 

What a delightful cover…I really love the pose. The upside down effect is quite stimulating!! And man look at all that muscle…YUM!!

Overall View 

Highland Heat is a powerful romance about defeating the odds and living in the moment!!! Its about passion, zeal and being true to yourself.

Series Order (2)

Click On Cover For Buy Link To Amazon

 

About The Author Updated

About Jennifer Haymore

USA Today bestselling author Jennifer Haymore is the author of sexy historical and contemporary romance.

You can find Jennifer in Southern California trying to talk her husband into yet another trip to England, helping her three children with homework while brainstorming a new five-minute dinner menu, or crouched in a corner of the local bookstore writing her next novel.

  • Michele H

    Loved the review! Jennifer Haymore is a terrific author so I can’t wait to start this series. And that cover! Whew… *fans face*

  • I do love seeing a class difference romance. It adds a conflict that can seem insurmountable. I’ll have to keep this series in mind. I’ve read a different book by her and liked it.

  • I think I read nr 3?…maybe

  • Oh I love her books but I’ve not read this series of hers. They both sound wonderful 😀

  • Eva

    HR in Scottish Highlands and espionage?! Count me in! ♥ this review!!

  • I’ve only read a novella by Jennifer Haymore, but I liked her writing style. I am always looking for more Highlanders in historicals so I’m definitely going to check this out. I also like the forbidden love theme that it seems to be following. Thanks for the review!