Book Review-A Sinful Deception by Isabella Bradford

January 24, 2015   Loverofromance   Book Reviews   0 Comments

Book Review-A Sinful Deception by Isabella BradfordA Sinful Deception by Isabella Bradford
Also in this series: A Wicked Pursuit
Series: Breconridge Brothers #2
Published by Ballantine Books on February 24th 2015
Genres: Historical Romance, Regency Era
Pages: 384
ISBN: 0345548140
   
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
three-flames

For fans of Julia Quinn, Eloisa James, and Sabrina Jeffries: the seductively charming second historical romance in Isabella Bradford's Breconridge Brothers trilogy.
Lord Geoffrey Fitzroy leads a charmed existence. As the second son of the Duke of Breconridge, he has none of the responsibilities of his older brother and all of the advantages, leaving handsome Geoffrey free to enjoy his rakish pursuits. And pursue them he does, leaving hearts fluttering all over London. But one night, at a ball teeming with high society's most sought-after beauties, only one truly intrigues him: the regal, aloof, and mysterious Miss Serena Palmer.
Magnificently dressed and wearing jewels befitting a queen, the lady is considered the prize of the season, a noble-born heiress raised in India. But even as Geoffrey's fascination grows, Serena deftly deflects his curiosity—and with good reason: Serena's exotic past contains a perilous secret that could destroy her. Yet her plan to live in safe solitude is thwarted by her hungry heart, and soon Geoffrey's passionate seduction finds her blissfully bed—and wed. Will her deception destroy her chance at happiness as Geoffrey's wife? Or will the devotion of her new husband reveal the only truth worth embracing: her undying love?

Geoffrey Fitzroy, is the second son, and enjoys everything that London has to offer. He is a appreciator of women, but has yet to meet a woman to hold his passion and heart, until he meets Serena Palmer. Serena is a exotic beauty, and grew up in India, but she has a horrific past, and Serena is determined to stay unattached and never to marry. When Geoffrey sees her at a ball, he can’t resist dancing with her, but then he is captivated by Serena and how set apart she is from the others. And even though their relationship is forbidden by her grandfather, they can’t seem to resist the desire they share for each other. But there are truths that Serena is keeping from Geoffrey, secrets that could destroy their bond to each other…

A Sinful Deception, is the second book in the series and does start off from where the last began. But it can be read as a stand alone if needed as well, but I would recommend if possible to read this series in order. This story is quite different from the last, as far as the set up and the characters. I really had a enjoyable time with this one. I think I enjoyed the first book a little bit more, but A Sinful Deception was quite a fun read and I had such a joy with these characters. They were a hoot of entertainment.

The story sets off with seeing Geoffrey and Serena first meeting at a ball, and usually Serena denies herself dancing, however when Geoffrey asks her, she accepts her and soon that sets off their quiet courtship that they tend to keep from everyone. The story is a bit slow to begin, but stick with it because it picks up. I loved what a sweet tone to the story there was, you find that there is quite a connection between these two, and despite other circumstances, they both remain dedicated to each other no matter what their families may say. I loved how much faith and loyalty they had for each other from the beginning. The secret that Serena is keeping only adds more depth to the story and you see how it creates a guessing game for the reader…I kept wondering when and how this secret will come out. Because as the reader you know, but the mystery is knowing how it will turn about in the story and what affect it has on the story. I have to say that after reading this I was quite enthralled by the way you see their relationship grow from beginning to end. There are many things that both of them learn, and they learn it together. The heat in the story is not too heavy, and I enjoyed how light it was, and seeing more in the development of the plot and building up of the characters. I loved how real the romance felt, and the way that this author creates a love story is tender and sweet. UNFORGETTABLE!!!

, , , , ,